Week 5

Published July 27, 2016 by dividinguplife

I started my weight loss journey on June 22nd. My weigh-in was 298 pounds. I’m 5 foot nine inches tall. 

I went out last weekend and bought a scale that would be accurate, instead of the cheap 8.00 scale I had at home that was not accurate at all. 

Today is day 35 of my weight loss. I stepped on the scale this morning and it read 275.4lbs. 

I’m down almost 23 pounds. Last Tuesday when I went to the doctor, I weighed 278. She was surprised by my 20 pound drop in 4 weeks. I guess when you go from what was most likely over 3,000 calories a day to 1,600 – 1,800 calories a day, these results are bound to happen. 

As an Ophthalmic Technician, I do my fair share of walking around during the day. I’m moving patients from room to room, doing their testing, and some of our wheel-chair bound patients require some lifting and moving. But, that’s about the only exercise I do right now. My husband and I walk on the weekends when we go out window shopping or to the flea market. But I’m not really making much of an effort to actually exercise. So, that’s my next goal. I’d like to start walking at least twice a week for an hour. 

Yesterday I turned 31. My boss brought in donuts, my coworker brought in a cake from one of my favorite bakeries. My boss laughed and said that calories don’t count on your birthday. To me they do. They always count. I did eat a donut that morning and I did eat a small slice of cake that afternoon. At lunch I went to Jersey Mike’s and got a sub, but I could only eat half of it. Lucky for me, I’m picky and don’t put any additions on to my subs except for lettuce. I managed to stay under my calorie goal by 500 calories yesterday. But let me tell you – I felt miserable when I got home. Even though I kept to my calorie intake, the food I ate was crap and my body felt it. I was dragging ass when I got home. 

My goal is to be at 190 pounds by February. Another blogger on here keeps a weekly calendar of her weight and her goals. I like that idea, but I’m not disciplined enough. So, I figured at least doing a weekly or bi-weekly update is enough for me. I continue to take pictures of my stomach from the front and the side. I take a side picture of my face to keep track of this turkey neck I always develop during weight gain. I’m really, really trying this time around.

Start Weight: 298
Current Weight: 275
Goal Weight: 190

85 pounds to go. 7 months until goal

That’s about 12 pounds a month. It’s going to be hard, and I may not quite get to that – but I want to get as close as I can. 

6 comments on “Week 5

  • That is a very aggressive goal, but I wish you all the best!!!! I strive for 1.7 lbs per week, which seems to be pretty manageable. When I was heavier, I could hit bigger numbers. I’m all about making a plan and executing it. I am a huge nerd and need to have spreadsheets and weekly goals, LOL.

    Like

    • It is very aggressive. I’m one of those people that set higher goals, and then when I don’t hit them, I get pissed off and push harder. I hate being proven wrong.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I used to sort of be that kind of person. However, the “not hitting them” got me frustrated enough that I finally decided to try a more realistic approach. That’s why I weigh in every week and have such a small weekly goal. However, that small weekly goal adds up to 7-9 lbs a month and will get me down to 185 by 12/31/16 from 272.8 on 12/23/15…so that’s an 87.8 lb loss in 1 week over a year! I made a 1/2 goal, too. I knew I wanted to be 220.0 lbs by 7/1/16. So I took the difference and divided it by the number of weeks from 12/23/15 to 7/1/16 and that’s how I got my first goal. I was over my goal by 5 lbs on 7/1/16, but I did get as low as 221.6 lbs…

        BTW, I started on the elliptical on the lowest resistance, running at a cadence of like 40-50 bpm…I could only run for 3 min before I had to stop. It took me from Oct thru Dec to get up to 20 min at the lowest everything….I can now run 3-1/2 miles in 30 min, LOL…but I choose to run 2 miles in 30 min at the highest resistance now. What I’m saying is don’t give up. Even if you’re starting off slow, keep at it because doing something “small” is still better than nothing!

        Like

  • Congratulations on your success!!! Consistency is key, whether you are going fast or slow doesn’t matter as long as there is progress. I challenge myself every morning to have the best day possible (making right decisions) and wake up
    the next, rinse and repeat. I just hit my target weight last week but I’m going to do two more lbs for good measure😝
    You are doing GREAT!!!

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

