Hurricane Matthew Drive

Published October 30, 2016 by dividinguplife

Rather than sit around on another Sunday while my husband went to work, I decided to do something productive and met up with my old coworker and her friend for a donations drive that was being held. Our state was hit extremely hardly by Hurricane Matthew, and some of our coastal towns, and even 100 miles inland were affected hard. Even Jim Cantore from The Weather Channel was here the day after the storm and remarked that he had never seen flooding of this magnitude come so far inland when the Hurricane’s eye didn’t even make landfall. Some of the more financially poor towns on our coast – those people lost everything. 

We spent our morning sorting out donations – health and beauty supplies, animal food, laundry detergent and cleaning supplies, hundreds of boxes of clothes, toys, shoes, and other misc. items. We filled a few hundred backpacks with school supplies, tooth brushes, toothpaste, hand sanitizer, Kleenex, hair brushes, shampoo, and body wash. Since I am an avid coupon shopper, I was able to pull from my stock pile and donate my own things, plus clothes my daughter has grown out of. We spent about four hours out there, in the blistering sun. Surprisingly it was rather warm (about 80 degrees). I was smart enough to wear tights and knee-high boots – I guess I underestimated the amount of donations coming in plus the temperature. 

But I did wear a sleeveless dress, which is something I have never been too fond of doing because I’m self-conscious about my arms being so big. 

dress

dress2

It was nice to wear a dress and keep the thoughts in the back of my mind to a dull roar. 

By the end of the morning, my boots came off, my hair was up in a freighting bun full of frizz and loathing under the ruthless sun. My old boss wanted to take a selfie, and being the tallest one of the bunch, I always have to stand in the back and bend down. 

dress3

But, it was rewarding and it was nice to know I did something that will help other people.  

2 comments on “Hurricane Matthew Drive

  • So wonderful! Screw what anyone else thinks. Wear what you want! What makes them think they are in any position to even have an opinion. I wore shorts in public yesterday for the first time in years. My hard work sheds away the shame and I don’t give one ounce of concern to what they think.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Leave a Reply

