Drugs Don’t Discriminate

Published January 21, 2017 by dividinguplife

I took a break from Facebook, because everyone on there has lost their fucking minds. While people are bitching about being scared for their safety, worried about Trump becoming Hitler, the Liberals setting shit on fire in the streets as a form of protest- while all of that has been going on, my friend from high school overdosed on Heroin and died. That’s real world shit. Not how concerned you are for your safety over President Trump. Give me a fucking break. 

This beautiful, charismatic, quriky, woman slipped away into the night after a lethal injection, which would be her last. She died. She left us all here to wonder what the fuck we could have done differently for her. 

She had just gotten out of an extended stay in rehab a few months ago. I thought she was doing better and getting her life on track. I saw her last year at a restaurant that she was training to be a manager at. We kept in touch through Facebook. And then she was gone. Just like that. Boom. No more. 31 years old and all I have left of her are memories of sitting at the lunch table my Sophomore and Junior year, swapping stories back and forth (hers always more interesting because she partied a lot.) I think she was one of the first people I told that I lost my virginity when I was 15. She wasn’t married, she had no children, and no boyfriend. She died and left behind memories. There is no one to carry on her legacy. That’s fucking sad. 

That marks number 5 in people I went to school with that have died since we graduated. Three were murdered over drugs, one died when her PTSD boyfriend took a shot gun and blew her face off after coming home from Iraq, and now this girl. 

Drugs are such horseshit. They aren’t worth it. They aren’t worth it destroying yourself, and dismantling your entire family. Because let me tell you, my friends family is destroyed. That was their only daughter, and they tried so hard to make sure she had the help she needed. They had no idea that she had fallen off the train again. None of us knew. 

I grew up around drugs. I can’t count how many times I had to step over my mothers body on my way to the kitchen, because the line of blow she had done was so powerful that it knocked her ass out right where she had been sitting. Cocaine made her giddy. Crack made her an asshole. When she drank, she was a bitch. My mother is probably the number one reason that I’ve never done drugs (minus that six month time period I smoked weed when I was 28 years old) … but the thought of doing anything harder? No thank you. It has been presented to me on many occasions. I hung out with a lot of party-goes in high school. I’ve seen it all circulate around me. Every time I saw shrooms or acid, crack, cocaine, and god only knows what else – the thought of my mother flashed across my mind and that was all it took. That woman destroyed my childhood. Her selfishness caused myself and my brother to be put through unspeakable things. 

But damn. Losing someone like this? It always gives you a reality check on how short this life is. How it can be taken from you at any moment. 

So, while the butthurt of America carries on marching and showing their ass because they feel betrayed and scared and triggered and whatever else …. we had to bury my friend today. We had to put her in the cold ground. That’s reality. That’s something to get upset about. Not about this temporary shit. 

3 comments on “Drugs Don’t Discriminate

  • You are hands down my favorite blogger. I admire strength in women and you’ve got it in spades. You’ve got my respect, and that’s not a word I throw around. You are who you say you are, you LIVE who you say you are, I admire that quality more than anything. No matter what life throws at you, you remain a winner- and that’s because of your attitude. You get shit done, you push through it. I wish you new glories in 2017!XO

    Liked by 1 person

  • Leave a Reply

